Quilting

Karen's gift detail Karen's gift

My daughter used to sell at Eugene’s Saturday market and found the marbled piece of cotton as a gift to me. I kept it hanging in the studio for the longest time to see what was the best way to use it. You know how it is when something is so special that you have trouble committing to cut it up.

First I backed it with batting and put rows of stitching on it, then I found the batik in my stash that really felt right with it, so I slashed both and joined them. It was layered again before the quilting was done on the batik. It is faced not bound, so the design wouldn’t be interrupted. It’s about 20″ by 30″. Thus: “Karen’s Gift”

One thought on “Quilting

Leave a Reply

